LibGuides: MKT4505: Strategic Marketing: Strategic Marketing Information Resources

Section Overview

In this section, you will find suggested databases, websites, and other sources of information, broken down and organized into content type. Please note that these are only starting points, and not exhaustive lists. If you don't find what you're looking for, you can always reach out to a librarian for help.

This portion of the guide is adapted from a handout created for MKT4505 by Samantha Porter.

Information Resources

Company History and Mission Statement:

Company Website
10k Annual Statement (only applies to public companies)
News Resources
International Directory of Company Histories

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Not all companies available*
Business Source Premier - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Not all companies available*
Hoovers Company Profiles- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Contains in-depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Company Profiles and Company News Events*

Geographic Locations:

Uniworld This link opens in a new window
Identify and download lists of companies and their subsidiaries, both foreign and domestic.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Find company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information, recent analyst reports, and more on US and global companies. Also includes industry reports and country snapshots.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ accounts are now automatically set up upon logging in, only your Babson login is required for access.The redirect to the Capital IQ homepage can take several seconds. Please accept cookies and the Terms of Use.
Use this for complex financial statement and comparables analysis, financial modeling, sector analysis and charting for companies worldwide.

Market Share Data:

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
*US only*
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
*Global*
Statista This link opens in a new window
*US & Global*
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
*US consumer goods and services only*
Mintel Market Size This link opens in a new window
*International markets included*

SWOT Analysis:

News (build your own SWOT Analysis)
10k Annual Statement (only applies to public companies)

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
*US Companies*
Business Insights: Essentials ( see Gale Business: Insights)
*Not available for all companies*
Business Source Premier - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Choose Company Profiles from options at the top -- not all companies available*
*Create your own SWOT using article research*

Ads and Advertising Strategies:

Company Website
Internet Search
Social Media

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
*US Only*
Winmo This link opens in a new window
Find both U.S. and international advertising agencies and their advertisers in this directory.

Industry Trends:

Industry Databases
Industry Information Research Guide (recommendation varies depending on industry)

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
*Generally good place to start for US*
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
*US Only*
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Earnings Call Transcripts -- Search Across Multiple Tickers*

NAICS Code Lookup
A NAICS (pronounced NAKES) Code is a classification within the North American Industry Classification System. The NAICS System was developed for use by Federal Statistical Agencies for the collection, analysis and publication of statistical data related to the US Economy. IBIS World uses NAICS codes to classify their industry reports.

Annual Trade Shows:

*first you must identify professional and industry organizations*

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
*"Additional Resources” section of reports*
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Look for National and International Encyclopedia of Associations*

Interviews:

CCD - Undergrad CCD Canvas Course: Video Library
Babson Connector
LinkedIn

Career Strategies:

Babson CC D

Vault (formerly Firsthand) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A career engagement platform containing employer profiles, rankings, career guides, and more.

MKT4505: Strategic Marketing

Section Overview

Information Resources

News Resources