The strategic focus of our collection is entrepreneurship (practical and theoretical), the business creation process, small business, social & non-profit business, family business, business plans, entrepreneurship education, social entrepreneurship and value creation, women and business, industry content, company histories, including historical case studies, and global studies.
Collection includes materials needed to support undergraduate and MBA coursework, and basic faculty research and curricular development in entrepreneurship, corporate entrepreneurship, family business, franchising, small business and the economy and government, social entrepreneurship, venture financing and related topics.
Many of these topics overlap with finance, economics, management and marketing areas. Faculty research also looks at characteristics of entrepreneurs, the relationship between entrepreneurship and government policy at local and international levels and teaching entrepreneurship locally and globally.
Materials on teaching and research of all aspects of entrepreneurship and intrapreneurship are collected to support the activities of the
a. Languages: Materials should be in English; however foreign language materials on entrepreneurship are added, but not actively sought.
b. Geographical guidelines: Emphasis is in on
c. Chronological: Emphasis in on current conditions with some basic historical perspectives. Older market data is needed for specific case studies.
d. Treatment: For introductory information selected subject encyclopedias and handbooks are collected for the Reference and General Collections. There is a preference for research and popular monographs on narrowly defined-topics, comparative studies, individual and collective biographies of current entrepreneurs, representative general and industry-specific how-to books on starting new businesses and developing business plans, histories of entrepreneurial companies and local nonprofits, and directories of franchising organizations, venture capital and new business sources. Franchising circulars are acquired selectively and housed in the library. Literature reviews and annotated bibliographies on entrepreneurship themes are collected to support faculty research.
Books: Individual titles and e-Book collections: Ebook Central, Business Expert Press
Journals: in Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost), ProQuest Central, JSTOR, Web of Science, Emerald Insight.
Databases: Pitchbook, Gale Business: Entrepreneurship, Chronicle of Philanthropy, GuideStar.
Reports: Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM), Frontiers of Entrepreneurship Research, Conference Board, NBER Working Papers, Euromonitor Passport.
Academic Journals:
Magazines and Newspapers:
Key Authors whose works should be retained permanently:
Zoltan J. Acs, Geoffrey Dees, Peter Drucker, Robert D. Hisrich, Jerome Katz, Josh Lerner, Scott Shane, Sapienza, Stahlman, Stevenson, Jeffry Timmons, Karl Vesper, Harold P. Welsch
Babson Authors: William Bygrave, Candida Brush, William Gartner, Patricia Greene, Timothy G. Habbershon, Heidi Neck, Donna J. Kelley, Mark P. Rice, Robert Rosenberg, Joel Mark Shulman, Thomas J. Stallkamp, Andrew Zacharakis; including former faculty Churchill, Daniel Muzika, Paul Reynolds, Robert Ronstadt, Stephen Spinelli, Jr., Natalie Taylor, Jeffry Timmons, Andrew Zacharakis, Shaker Zahra.
Major Titles:
Emphasis is on material within the last 5 - 10 years. Most entrepreneurship materials are kept except older how-to books. Older annual editions of directories covering private companies, particularly for high tech & biopharma industries, are needed for faculty research.
HB 615 Entrepreneurship.
HD 30.28 Business plans
HD 60-69 Entrepreneurship, corporate social responsibility, risk mgt., teams
HD 2321-4730 Small & medium-sized businesses/enterprises (SMEs), industry
HD 9000-9999 Special Industries and Trade
HE 1-7599 Transportation
HE 9751-9900 Air Transportation
HF 5001-5399 Careers and Business
HG 65- 70 Private equity
HG 2358
HG 4027 Venture financing
HG 4509
HG 4751 Venture capital
HG 4963 - 4965 Venture capital by region
HG 5160.5
TS Manufactures
