LibGuides: Management Subject Guide: Library Databases

Overview of Library Databases Section

This section is devoted to navigating our subscription database collection, and is divided into thematic sections.

These include:

Company Information
Industry Information
Analyst Reports

What is company information?

Stock prices
Financial information including annual reports, quarterly reports and associated presentations & transcripts
Company history & overview
Competitors
Company's vision & mission
Management team, board members
Products and/or services

AtoZdatabases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A to Z Databases is a directory of U.S. companies and healthcare professionals. You can use this resource to find local competitors, or company contact information.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If you are looking into public, domestic companies, Capital IQ is a fantastic resource for financial information. You can use it for financial statement and comparables analysis, financial modeling, sector analysis and charting for companies worldwide.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If you are looking into public, domestic companies, Mergent Online is a great tool for finding company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information. The company profiles are easy to navigate, but you do need to double-check for the currency of the information.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook is the go-to resource for students who are working with or researching start-ups or private companies. It is a private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on companies, deals and investors. You do need to register for an account to access this resource.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A compact version of Capital IQ.

Additional guidance for company information:

Visit your company's website! This can be a great place to get recent news about your company, and find their mission statement.
If Mergent and Capital IQ don't have the most recent SEC filings for your public company, you can visit their investor relations websites to find them.
For advice on how to strategically read a 10K, visit the link below.

How to Read a 10-K/10-Q (SEC)

What is industry information?

Industry reports & overviews
Trends
Key Players
Current news
Ratios & comparables

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BizMiner provides detailed industry analysis which reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets.
Disruptor- Global Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Disruptor is a great resource for students conducting research into technology or emerging industries. It tracks emerging tech-enabled opportunities across all industries by providing information on start-ups, tech-led innovations, latest technology trends, influencers, consumer insights, and venture capital portfolio investments.
Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fitch Connect is another resource that students who are doing international industry research should consult. It contains country political, economic, and operational risk assessments, as well as reports on major industry sectors
Gartner This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gartner provides articles, reports and analysis of issues relating to Information Technology (IT) industries.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBIS World is our go-to-resources for industry-level information, and is a great destination for students seeking a birds-eye level understanding of US domestic industries. You can search for industries using keyword search, or search by NAICS code.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel is a fantastic resource for students researching consumer-driven industries. Mintel's in-house analysts that produce market research reports on consumer products, lifestyles, retailing and international travel.
Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Plunket to find analysis, research, statistics and trade associations for major US industries.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is a fantastic resource for students who are researching international industries. Statista is a data aggregator, that collects data on over 600 international industries from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.

What can an analyst report tell you?

Recent financials and their expected share price movements.
Current and future outlook for the state of the industry.

Morningstar- Investing Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Morningstar is a financial services firm that tracks stocks, mutual funds, ETFs, and investing categories. You can use Morningstar to find analyst reports as well as other research and investment resources.
Investext This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Investext to find investment research reports containing detailed information and analysis on publicly traded companies in a wide variety of industries. The reports are written by analysts at leading brokerage houses, investment banks and research firms worldwide.