Services for Visitors

Visitors

Access to Databases Outside of Horn Library

Your local public library may provide access to electronic resources within their library and from home or office. Check out your library's web site or speak with their reference librarians.

Local Library Resources - All States : Access information through state sponsored portals including company data, career and job searching resources,  business databases and online newspapers and magazines.

Massachusetts residents: Massachusetts residents can obtain remote access to InfoTrac Web and other databases through their local public libraries by going to the Massachusetts Library Information Network and entering the barcode on their public library card.

New York residents: Within the New York City area, the Science, Industry and Business Library of the New York Public Library offers databases, both at NYPL locations and from home with a valid NYPL library card. This includes the EBSCOhost database called Business Source Premier, which is an excellent source for business articles from trade publications and academic business journals. 

Other States: Each state has its own information policy and infrastructure, and offers its own mix of databases and access. For example:

  • In Northern Virginia’s Fairfax County library system, local residents with a library card have access to InfoTrac’s Business Insights: Essentials and EBSCOhost’s Business Source Elite and ProQuest, which includes the Wall Street Journal.
  • California has its own offerings, including the extensive network available through the statewide educational system.

Free Business Websites - a large research guide of publicly available websites that the Horn librarians compiled.