Content Mgt. & Research Librarian, Economics & Finance Liaison
Patricia Berens
Contact:
You can also reach me directly via WebEx Teams: https://babson.webex.com/meet/pberens
Need Help?
Data Sources
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistical data on over 600 international industries, sources include market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find US and global demographic, economic, financial, industrial, and other statistical data sets from over 75 key US and international public sector agencies and organizations. - Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new windowFind international market intelligence, including economic statistics, on industries, countries, and consumers.
- United Nations Library Statistical Databases PageThis page points to internal & external data available across a wide range of topics: economic, demographic, social, health, etc.
- United Nations Statistics DivisionGlobal statistics with links to many related agencies.
- U.S. Census Bureau: International Data BaseProvides country overviews, population, and country rankings.
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowEIU does not permit the use or uploading of EIU content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.Covering 203 countries, EIU Viewpoint provides analyses of economic conditions, the business environment, key industry sectors, supply and demand for major commodities, and coverage of global macroeconomic trends.
- BMI- (formerly Fitch Connect) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find global country political, economic, and operational risk assessments, reports on major industry sectors, company news, and key economic statistical data. - OECD Data This link opens in a new windowFind statistics on economic indicators, government finance, international trade, labor, and more from over 60 countries
- Penn World TableThe PWT database has data on countries' relative levels of income, output, inputs and productivity. If you're looking for purchasing power parity (PPP), PWT is the place to go.
- World Bank Data This link opens in a new windowWorld Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, World Bank Projects, Global Economic Monitor, and more
These sites provide economic data visualizations:
- WRDS (Undergraduate Student Day Pass) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Undergraduate students now use a Day Pass for access. See Instruction guide for more information
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a gateway to financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, and marketing data accessible through a single web-based interface provided by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. - WRDS (Faculty, Graduate Student , and Staff Login) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Graduate Students can request an individual WRDS account.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a gateway to financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, and marketing data accessible through a single web-based interface provided by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.
- Alpha Vantage Market Data APIsOpen access to 100,000+ global economic and statistical datasets covering various asset classes, including stocks, forex, and cryptocurrencies. Both HTTP-based programmatic access and spreadsheet-based access (e.g., Excel, Google Sheets) are supported.
- Kaggle: DatasetsLists and links to thousands of data sets on a wide range of topics, including many business-oriented ones, e.g. anonymized fraudulent credit card transactions, mall customer segmentation data, Google patents data, Chicago business licenses, etc.
- Google Dataset SearchUse it to find free datasets.
- WorldData.AIFree, but requires signing up. Collects and curates a wide range of public data from hundreds of international sources. and includes 3.3 Billion datasets on topics ranging from macroeconomic markets, labor markets, financial markets, demographics, trade, agriculture, technology to weather and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowHelpful starting point for finding demographic, economic, business, health, political, social, etc. statistics on the US. Also includes some comparative international statistics.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowLong statistical runs of data are available on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences.
- Data.govPortal to open data from US federal agencies with over 335,000 datasets.
- Research Data GovPortal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from US federal statistical agencies.
- Massachusetts Data HubConnects users to data and reports published by Massachusetts state agencies.
- FRED - Economic Data from the St. Louis Federal Reserve BankIncludes over 237,000 US and international time series from 69 sources, incl. national banks, financial firms, international organizations, US federal agencies, etc.
- ALFRED - Archival Federal Reserve Economic DataRetrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. Includes over 237,000 time series from national and international sources.
- U.S. Census Bureau-Longitudinal Employer-Household DynamicsIncludes different tools, among them a mapping application.
- U.S. Treasury DataInterest rates, public debt, auction info, and more.
- StatsAmericaPortal to US government economic development data; a service of the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business.
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsThe statistical arm of the US Dept. of Transportation, BTS provides data on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionTopical listing of statistical data available from the CDC, an agency of the US Dept. of Health & Human Services.
- CRSP (Found on WRDS Platform, see WRDS)
- This link opens in a new window
Access via WRDS. Find the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets.
- Federal Communications CommissionExplore granular search interfaces into more than 40 specialized FCC databases such as radio call signs and equipment authorization.
- HealthData.gov (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services)Datasets for entrepreneurs, researchers and policy makers. Enter agency site or click DATASETS button in top menu bar.
- National Center for Education StatisticsStatistical gateway of the US Dept. of Education. For higher ed stats, choose Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) from Popular Topics drop-down.
- NOAA Climate & Weather DataNOAA NCEI (Natl. Centers for Environmental Information) is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data.
- SBRnet Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new windowFind sports market research and industry news, sports participation, consumer expenditures & brand preferences, marketing, facilities and teams.
- WRDS (Undergraduate Student Day Pass) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Undergraduate students now use a Day Pass for access. See Instruction guide for more information
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a gateway to financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, and marketing data accessible through a single web-based interface provided by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. - WRDS (Faculty, Graduate Student , and Staff Login) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Graduate Students can request an individual WRDS account.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a gateway to financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, and marketing data accessible through a single web-based interface provided by the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.