About the Library

Librarian Liaisons

Division Name
Accounting & Law Stephanie Farne
Arts & Humanities Daryl Bullis
Economics Patricia Berens
Entrepreneurship Samantha Porter
Finance Jack Cahill
History & Society Daryl Bullis
Management Stephanie Farne
Marketing Samantha Porter
Math & Science Jack Cahill
TOIM Jack Cahill

General assistance  for all staff and faculty is available via phone at (781)239-4596 or email at research@babson.edu

Liaison Program

Librarian Liaisons
Roles and Responsibilities

 To Support Curricula & Faculty Research, Librarian Liaisons …

  •       Coordinate & communicate library services with their division;
  •       Develop collections that support curricular needs;
  •       Provide instructional services that support division courses;
  •       Consult with faculty to meet their curricular development and research
            needs.

 
In addition, each liaison librarian …

  •       Coordinates library functions related to a division, such as
           collection development, learning center initiatives, instruction
            programs, research consultations, reserves, student employees,
           online learning tools, etc.
  •       Provides services for a target audience, such as upper level electives, 
             the MBA Blended Learning program, and BEE.
  •       Participates on liaison, functional, and target audience teams, listed above;
  •       Provides general research consultations hours
  •       Provides general library instruction
  •       Expertise in resources related to discipline, in addition to core business
            resources
  •       Mentors other library staff  

 
Liaison Roles Revolve Around

        Curricular Support - Librarians assist and instruct students to identify, use, and evaluate information sources using:

  • INFOSessions open workshops;
  • research guides;
  • individual and group research consultations (sign up at Information Desk 1);
  •  class or project-specific research guides and in-class instruction sessions.

 Librarians manage customer service relations for their division(s); they also help faculty members develop reading lists, comply with copyright regulations, and identify the inappropriate use of references and instances of plagiarism. (Faculty Survival Guide/Faculty Handbook)

 ¨        Faculty Research Consultations - Liaison librarians:

  • provide data and literature searches;
  • identify and investigate data sources (publishers, agencies, organizations);
  • coordinate article and book retrievals from the Horn Library collection and from other libraries;
  • facilitate ordering books and research and multimedia materials for individual research and curricular needs;
  • consult on the use and citing of electronic resources;
  • train faculty members to use all Library electronic sources;
  • instruct and assist faculty’s research assistants;
  • instruct your students at the information desk or in class on research projects;
  • consult on copyright and student plagiarism issues. (Faculty Survival Guide/Faculty Handbook)

Liaison Service Levels

In addition to their role as liaisons, librarians provide diverse services as reflected in their respective job descriptions.  A support network consisting of fellow liaisons is available to insure that each academic division receives uniform service levels.  If a liaison cannot fulfill appropriate requests from faculty, staff or students, s/he needs to tap into the liaison network to find someone who can.

 Provide instructional support:

  • Design and deliver instruction on the use of information resources to 
    support upper level instruction for respective academic divisions
  • Educate and encourage observance of compliance guidelines in the research process

 

 Provide research services:

  • Provide consultations and research assistance for faculty, students, staff and related programs to support research and curricular needs in their areas of subject expertise
  • Provide guidance on the use of overarching educational research tools

 

 Provide collection management services & support:

  • De/select books, journals, and media
  • Provide feedback on trials that reflect subject specialty
  • Provide vendor relations for niche products

 

 Provide outreach services:

  • Build relationship with faculty
  • Email informative communications to faculty
  • Promote library services and resources through marketing and outreach