LibGuides: Course Materials: How to Control Costs: Find Library Resources

Find Library Resources

Does the library already have access to the materials you wish to use in your course?

For print and eBooks, streaming videos, DVDs, articles and more, enter keywords or an item's title in the single search box on the Horn Library Page.
Search the eJournal Finder through Horn Library to see available electronic journals.
Already have an article for your course? Check if it is available to your students through Horn's subscriptions? Search the Citation Linker.

News Articles and Current Events

New York Times Registration
Register for full access to the NYTimes.com. Use this link to register, then once registered login directly to nytimes.com.
Wall Street Journal
WSJ.com accounts are now automatically set up by logging in here, only your Babson login is required for access.
Your new account will expire after 180 days at which time you will need to access wsj.com via the icon on the library homepage to "refresh" your account.
Full complimentary access to WSJ.com and to the Wall Street Journal’s mobile and tablet apps.
Financial Times
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis.
Boston Business Journal Account Registration
Please set up an account for access using the above link. Enter your Babson email address for account creation then create a unique password.

Video for Courses

Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. This outstanding collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Kanopy
An on-demand streaming media service that offers award-winning collections including films from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Swank Digital Campus
Provides digital access to course-related films. Faculty can request films on the platform from the library.

If there is a film you cannot find, please contact Jane Vecchi (jvecchi@babson.edu) in the Library to find out if access can be provided.

DVDs: In addition to streaming services, the library has a collection of DVDs available. Use the single search box to locate the film title and determine if if Babson already owns the DVD you wish to use in your class. You can put a DVD on Reserve or borrow it to show it to a class. If the library does not have the DVD you wish to use in your course, you can request that the library purchase the DVD by contacting Jane Vechhi (jvecchi@babson.edu). DVDs can also be borrowed through Inter Library Loan.

Enterprise Solution for Harvard Business School Publishing

Harvard Business Publishing Canvas Integration
Add HBSP content directly through Canvas.

Finding Case Studies

Begin with The Case Centre below to find the majority of case collections or go directly to a particular publisher.

The Case Centre (Register to use)
Begin here to find over 35,000 cases from almost all of the best case collections in the world. Most Babson cases are in this collection.
Darden Graduate School of Business
Search Darden's cases and other materials.
Harvard Business Review Publishing - Case Studies
Cases, teaching materials, books and HBR reprints are indexed here. Cases must be purchased. Course related cases are available on Canvas course pages.
Ivey Publishing (Richard Ivey School of Business Foundation)
The Ivey School, located at the University of Western Ontario, has a large collection of cases.
Kellogg School of Management
Cases developed by faculty and taught in the classroom.
Stanford Graduate School of Business
Access cases from the Center for Entrepreneurial Studies.

Questions about Babson cases?
Most Babson cases can be found by searching The Case Centre

CaseBase: Case Studies in Global Business
Covers business case studies focused on issues in emerging markets and emerging industries across the globe.

Disruptor- Global Data
Go to "Analysis" in the top menu --> select Case Studies --> cases are organized by 'theme' or industry, you may add in search terms to narrow down results
Business Source Premier - EBSCOhost
When in Advanced Search, limit Document Type to "Case Studies"
ProQuest One Academic
When in Advanced Search, limit Document Type to "Business Case" and/or "Case Study"
Kanopy
Find video case studies using Kanopy. Under Browse Subjects select Business, then Business Case Studies.

Find Case Study Journals & Additional Resources
Select "Title contains all words" from the drop down menu and search for "case study" or "case studies"

The Case Centre: Free Cases
As part of The Case Centre’s commitment to promoting the case method and supporting case teachers, it offers a growing range of free cases produced by a number of schools, organisations and individuals across the globe. Register for a free account to access cases.
MIT Sloan Teaching Resources Library
Since 2009, the MIT Sloan School of Management has provided open and free access to their case studies and management simulations. These have been developed for MIT Sloan classrooms and made available to management educators and students worldwide. All of the materials featured in this library carry a creative commons license allowing them to be downloaded, copied, and distributed/used free of charge by anyone worldwide, no permission required.
Journal of Business Cases and Applications
The Journal of Business Cases and Applications is dedicated to publishing quality applied business cases and classroom applications/exercises designed to assist business academics in the classroom. The goal is to share cases and exercises developed for classroom use in any area of business education.
MERLOT Business Cases
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.

Additonal Resources

Course Reserves Information

Research and Instruction Services

Horn Library Research

Contact: