Web of Science

Link to Database

Description

Web of Science® consists of databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. We subscribe to the Social Sciences Citation Index®. Explore top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder.

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes over 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

A citation index contains the references cited by the authors of the articles covered by the index. You can use these references to do a cited reference search. This type of search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.

In addition to cited reference searching, you can search these databases by topic, author, publication name, and address.

The Social Sciences Citation Index:

  • Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1988 forward. Note that you may not have access to all data years.
  • Averages 2,900 new records per week.
  • Includes approximately 60,000 new cited references per week.
  • As of January 1992, contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 60% of the articles in the index.

Some of the disciplines covered in their 256 categories include:

Business Linguistics Social Work
Economics Philosophy Sociology
History Political Science Substance Abuse
Industrial Relations Psychology Urban Studies
Information Science Psychiatry Women's Studies
Law Public Health  

Access Restrictions

Access granted to current faculty, students, and staff.
Walk-in visitors to Horn Library may use while on site.

Horn Library E-Resources are to be used for educational purposes only. Commercial use is not permitted. Any use of library databases on an internship, job, or other program with an employer is not allowed.

© Babson College. All Rights Reserved. Babson Park, MA 02457-0310. 781-235-1200