Citing Sources & Citation Styles

Basic Format:

1. Author(s) - Last, First M., and First M. Last.
2. Title of Book: Subtitle (if any).
3. Publisher,
4. Year of Publication.

Last, First M. Title of Book: Subtitle (if any). Publisher, Year of Publication.

Example (one author):

Bradbury, Ray. Fahrenheit 451. Random House, 1953.

Example (multiple authors):

Ross, Stephen A., Randolph Westerfield, and Jeffrey Jaffe. Corporate Finance, 9th ed. McGraw-Hill, 2010.

Example (more than three authors): use et al. after the first named author.

Wysocki, Anne Francis, et al. Writing New Media: Theory and Applications for Expanding the Teaching of Composition. Utah State UP, 2004.

Basic Format:

1. Author(s) - Last, First M., and First M. Last.
2. Title of Book: Subtitle (if any)
3. Version or edition number (if any).
4. Publisher
5. Year of Publication,
6. E-book Platform,
7. DOI or URL.
8. Date accessed.

Last, First, M. Book Title. Publisher, Year of Publication, E-book platform, DOI or URL. Date accessed.

Example:

Voci, Paolo. China on Video: Smaller Screen Realities. Taylor & Francis, 2010, ProQuest Ebook Central, ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/babson/detail.action?docID=534243. Accessed 6 May 2022.

Basic Format:

1. Author(s) - Last, First M., and First M. Last.
2. "Article Title: Subtitle."
3. Title of Journal or Source
4. Volume, Issue, Year, pages.
5. Database where you accessed the article,
6. DOI or URL.
7. Date accessed.

Last, First M. “Article Title.” Journal Title, vol #, no. #, Year, pages. Database Name, DOI or URL. Date accessed.

Example:

Finalyson, Alan. "Rhetoric And The Political Theory Of Ideologies." Political Studies, vol. 60, no. 4, 2012, pp. 751-67. EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier, doi:10.1111/j.1467-9248.2012.00948.x. Accessed 6 May 2022.

Basic Format:

1. Author or compiler of profile report.
2. "Title of Profile or Report."
3. Name of Database where report was accessed.
4. Date of report or profile - day month year,
5. DOI or URL.
6. Date accessed.

Author/Compiler of Report. “Company Profile Title.” Database Name, Date Published, DOI or URL. Date accessed.

Examples:

S&P Capital IQ. “Dell Inc. Private Company with Public Debt Profile.” Capital IQ, 2022, www.capitaliq.com/CIQDotNet/company.aspx?companyId=253188908. Accessed 6 May 2022.

MarketLine. "Anheuser-Busch InBev SA/NV SWOT Analysis." EBSCOhost Business Source Complete, 12 Sept. 2021, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=130997653&site=ehost-live. Accessed 6 May 2022.

Basic Format:

Author/Compiler of Report. “Statistical Report Title.” Database Name, Publication Date, DOI or URL (if from Bloomberg, leave URL out). Date accessed.

Example:

HSH Associates. "Rates on 1-Year Adjustable Mortgages in the United States from 2005 to 2016.” Statista, 2017, www-statista-com.ezproxy.babson.edu/statistics/272729/1-year-adjustable-mortgage-rates-in-the-united-states-from-2011/. Accessed 6 May 2022.

Bloomberg Data Set:

Bloomberg L.P. “Stock Price Graph for Microsoft Corp. 06/02/2018 - 07/02/2018.” Bloomberg Terminal, 2022. Accessed 6 May 2022.

Citing a table from a report:

Mintel. “Figure 3: Short-, medium- and longer-term impact of COVID-19 on Retail and Footwear, May 2020, Mintel Academic, May 2020. https://reports-mintel-com.ezproxy.babson.edu/display/1023031/. Accessed 6 May 2022.

Example:

United States, Supreme Court. Roper v. Simmons. 1 March 2005. Legal Information Institute, Cornell U Law School, www.law.cornell.edu/supct/html/03-633.ZS.html. Acessed 6 May 2022.

Basic Format:

1. Author (either analyst firm or personal name).
2. "Report Title."
3. Database where report was accessed
4. Date of report,
5. DOI or URL.
6. Date accessed.

Report Author. “Report Title.” Database Name, Date of Report, DOI or URL. Date accessed.

Examples:

GlobalData. “Alibaba Group Holding Ltd (BABA) - Financial and Strategic SWOT Analysis Review.” Mergent Investext, 2018, mergentonline.com.ezproxy.babson.edu/investextsearchlive.php?opt=loadDocument& docid=82581712&doctype=pdf. Accessed 6 May 2022.

Oliver, Kelsey. "IBISWorld Industry Report OD4621: Corporate Wellness Services in the US." IBISWorld. Apr. 2018, clients1-ibisworld-com.ezproxy.babson.edu/reports/us/industry/default.aspx?entid=4621. Accessed 6 May 2022.

10-K or Annual Report from the company's own website:

1. Title of 10-K or Annual Report.
2. Name of publisher or sponsor of website.
3. Date of report,
4. DOI or URL.
5. Date accessed.

Examples:

10-K Annual Report. Apple Inc., 3 Nov. 2017, d18rn0p25nwr6d.cloudfront.net/CIK-0000320193/bc9269c5-539b-4a69-9054-abe7849c4242.html. Accessed 6 May 2022.

2017 Annual Report. Chevron Corporation, 2017, www.chevron.com/-/media/chevron/annual-report/2017/2017-Annual-Report.pdf. Accessed 6 May 2022.

2017 Annual Report. Intel Corporation, 2017, intel2018or.q4web.com/Y2017/default.aspx. Accessed 6 May 2022.

10-K or Annual Report from a Babson subscription database:

1. Company Name.
2. "Title of 10-K or Annual Report."
3. Date of report.
4. Database where report was accessed,
5. DOI or URL.
6. Date accessed.

Examples:

Amgen Inc. "2013 10-K Report." 13 Feb. 2018, Capital IQ, www.capitaliq.com/CIQDotNet/Filings/DocumentRedirector.axd?documentId=242610618. Accessed 6 May 2022.

PepsiCo Inc. "Form 10-K." 30 Dec. 2017, Mergent Online, www.mergentonline.com.ezproxy.babson.edu/printedgar.php? pagetype=companyfilings&id=17253586&type=HTML&compname=PEPSICO%20INC. Accessed 6 May 2022.

Basic Format:

Cite them as you would a book, but add day and month to date for a press release.

Example:

Xerox Reports Third-Quarter 2013 Earnings. Xerox Corp., 26 Oct. 2017, www.news.xerox.com/news/Xerox-reports-third-quarter-2017-earnings. Accessed 6 May 2022.

Basic Format:

1. Author(s) - Last, First, M. and First M. Last (or Corporate Author Name)
2. "Title of Webpage." (in quotes)
3. Title of Website. (in italics),
4. Version or edition used (if known),
5. Publisher or sponsor of website; if unknown, use N.p.,
6. Date of site creation or update (day month year); if not known, use n.d.,
7. DOI or URL.
8. Date accessed.

Examples:

Segal, Troy. “Understanding Private Equity (PE).” Investopedia. Investopedia LLC., 25 Aug. 2021, www.investopedia.com/articles/financial-careers/09/private-equity.asp. Accessed 6 May 2022.

Rapp, Christof. “Aristotle’s Rhetoric.” Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Department of Philosophy, Stanford U, 2022, plato.stanford.edu/entries/aristotle-rhetoric/. Accessed 6 May 2022.