LibGuides Subjects: History & Society

Search:
  |  Return to Homepage
History & Society resources

Academic Search Premier - EBSCOhost
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 22nd, 2009
Scholarly database with full-text articles covering most of the humanities and sciences, including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, religion, psychology, etc
American Presidency
by Dominique Winn - last updated on Nov 19th, 2009
Britannica Online Academic Edition
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Jan 09th, 2009
Based on the Encyclopaedia Britannica - the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world - this includes topical articles, maps, photos, illustrations, videos, multimedia clips, and yearbooks.
Citing Sources & Creating Bibliographies
by Horn Library Research - last updated on Nov 18th, 2009
Learn about available citation software as well as how to properly create bibliographies, works cited lists, and in-line citations. (The citation software can do it for you!)
CQ Electronic Library
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
A definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
EBSCOhost
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 21st, 2009
Gateway to all EBSCOhost databases including Business Source Complete, Academic Search Premier, EconLit, PsycInfo, Communications & Mass Media Complete, Medline, Regional Business News and more.
EconLit - EBSCOhost
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 22nd, 2009
Provides links to articles from over 640 economics journals covering capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more.
ERIC - EBSCOhost
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 22nd, 2009
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information. The database contains more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Expanded Academic ASAP - InfoTrac Web
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
Best place to start for articles on all topics! Index of 2,300 academic and general interest periodicals; full-text for over 1,300 titles.
Factiva
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
The world's leading business and news publications, incl. all editions of the Wall Street Journal and Barron's, major newspapers, business magazines, altogether more than 8000 publications.
French in Action
by Sarah Pawlek - last updated on Aug 28th, 2008
This series uses active participation to increase fluency in French, while introducing French culture.
Global Issues in Context
by Kristin Djorup - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues.
Historical Newspapers- ProQuest
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Nov 03rd, 2009
Full text of the New York Times (mid 1851-2005) and the Wall Street Journal (mid 1889-1991).
History of China
by Dominique Winn - last updated on Nov 18th, 2009
A Guide to Library resources for the study of China
History Resource Center
by Dominique Winn - last updated on Nov 19th, 2009
Scholarly publications offering primary and secondary sources and images. Covers US or international history.
Honors
by Nancy Dlott - last updated on Oct 09th, 2009
JSTOR
by Sarah Pawlek - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an online collection of over 500 major academic research journals covering topics in the arts, humanities, business, and sciences.
Latin American History
by Dominique Winn - last updated on Nov 18th, 2009
Includes Revolution & Terror e-resources
Legacy Tobacco Documents Library
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Feb 24th, 2009
The Legacy Tobacco Documents Library (LTDL) contains more than 9.7 million documents (50+ million pages) created by major tobacco companies related to their advertising, manufacturing, marketing, sales, and scientific research activities.
LexisNexis Academic
by Mary Gavett-Orsi - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
Basic sections include: General, News, Legal, Business, and People.
Literature Resource Center
by Sarah Pawlek - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Media and Communications
by Dominique Winn - last updated on Nov 18th, 2009
Middle East: People and Culture
by Dominique Winn - last updated on Nov 19th, 2009
MLA International Bibliography - EBSCOhost
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 22nd, 2009
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the database offers a detailed bibliography of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and more.
NBER Working Papers
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
Oxford Art Online
by Sarah Pawlek - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
Oxford Art Online provides articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
Online editions of an expanding range of Oxford's award-winning scholarly reference titles.
Project Muse
by Sarah Pawlek - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
Full text of 250 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals from arts, humanities and social science disciplines.
ProQuest
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Nov 03rd, 2009
Collection of business, management, accounting, tax, trade, and news publications with comprehensive subject indexing scheme; includes WSJ, NYT, and many local Massachusetts newspapers in full-text. Also includes Hoover's company profiles.
PsycARTICLES - EBSCOhost
by Dominique Winn - last updated on Nov 19th, 2009
Research Strategies
by Nancy Dlott - last updated on Jan 30th, 2009
Strategies for starting, broadening and narrowing searches for more relevant search results.
ScienceDirect
by Cynthia Robinson - last updated on Sep 16th, 2009
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology, and medical full text articles and bibliographic information from over 2500 journals, plus eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.
Social Science Research Network
by Cynthia Robinson - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
SSRN includes an Abstract Database containing abstracts of 37,000+ scholarly working and forthcoming papers, and an Electronic Paper Collection containing 19,500+ downloadable full text documents.
Special Issues
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
Identify & link to special issues of industrial and trade magazines, including annual industry outlooks, statistical issues, top company listings, etc. Includes Gary Price's List of Lists with links to top company listings by industry sector.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
by Patricia Berens - last updated on Jun 15th, 2009
Full text of the Statistical Abstract of the United States, a publication by the US Census containing statistics and data tables.
Technological Change
by Cynthia Robinson - last updated on Sep 08th, 2009
Technological change is the overall process of invention, innovation, and diffusion of technology or processes.
Wilson Select Plus - FirstSearch
by Mary Gavett-Orsi - last updated on Sep 14th, 2009
Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business.
World Religions
by Dominique Winn - last updated on Nov 20th, 2009
WorldCat - FirstSearch
by Mary Gavett-Orsi - last updated on Nov 19th, 2008
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Use to obtain bibliographic, abstract and full-text information from millions of records.


 

Loading content...