Oxford Art Online

Link to Database

Access Restrictions:

Note: Database access is limited to only 3 concurrent users. Please be considerate and logout of Oxford Art Online when finished.

  • Access granted to current faculty, students and staff only.
  • Horn Library E-Resources are to be used for educational purposes only. Commercial use is not permitted. Any use of library databases on an internship, job, or other program with an employer is not allowed.

Oxford Art Content

Oxford Art Online includes:

Grove Art Online is today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) – the landmark reference work containing more than 45,000 entries from scholars around the globe. Included are links to 130,000 color images and 21,000 biographies.

The Oxford Companion to Western Art contains more than 2,600 entries, and provides discriminating and reliable coverage of over 1,700 artists and their work. Articles give fresh treatment to topics of contemporary interest, including art movements, theory, and criticism.

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is the most substantial English-language reference work devoted solely to the exploration of this subject. Featuring more than 600 articles by more than 500 globally recognized art historians, philosophers, and theorists, this encyclopedia provides coverage of historical accounts and critical discussions on aesthetics.

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms provides 1,800 entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts. The quick reference format includes materials, techniques, and foreign terms essential for navigating the current visual climate.