Horn Library Content Strategy

Collection Description: History & Society

The History & Society (H&S) collections support the present and anticipated instructional and research needs of Babson College undergraduates, staff, and faculty. The primary purpose of the H&S Collection is to support the undergraduate curriculum in history, social sciences, and history-related courses. The H&S Collection supports the curriculum with notable texts and readings in the following areas:   
 
- African History
- American History
- Anthropology
- Asian History
- Gender Studies
- Latin American History
- Middle East History
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Sociology
- Western European History

  For languages, art, religion, English, and additional liberal arts subjects see the Arts & Humanities page

The current aim is to continue to build strong research collections for political, legal, business and economic history, while strengthening and more fully developing collections for social, religious and cultural history. For all the subject areas below, the same holds true for each: 

  • Readership level: works written for undergraduate, advanced undergraduate, and basic faculty research.  Masters-level and research-level publications are collected selectively.
  • Materials are primarily acquired for the circulating collection and reference, and are housed in the Horn Library.


HISTORY & SOCIETY SUBJECTS

AFRICAN HISTORY [see Political Science; African History is an interdisciplinary subject]

AMERICAN HISTORY:

Scope of Coverage: The Library liaison selects material related to American history, politics, business, non-fiction and biography. African American culture, history. and biographies are also found here.

a. Languages:  English

b. Geographical Guidelines:  Colonial American and United States History, including nations affected by U.S. foreign policy.  Materials on Massachusetts and New England

c. Chronological Guidelines:  18th-21st century

d. Treatment of Subject:  Monographs are purchased that focus on cultural traditions, historic events, social evolution, and major political and sociological movements.

ANTHROPOLOGY: [see American History OR Asian History; ANTHROPOLOGY is an interdisciplinary subject]

ASIAN HISTORY:

Scope of Coverage: The Library liaison selects material related to the history of Asian nations, especially India, South Korea, Thailand, Turkey, China, Japan, and Indonesia. 

a. Languages:  English. Some general texts in Japanese or Chinese language can be used for language courses and by student population.

b. Geographical Guidelines:  Emphasis is on India, South Korea, Thailand, Turkey, China, Japan, and Indonesia.

c. Chronological Guidelines:  Concentration on the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries with the heaviest emphasis on the 20th century.

d. Treatment of Subject:  Monographs are purchased that focus on

• women
• social evolution
• religion
• races
• peoples
• major political movements
• major historical movements
• cultural topics
• civilizations
• art


GENDER STUDIES & WOMEN'S HISTORY

Scope of Coverage: The library collects works dealing with women in business, women in the political arena, and the portrayal of women in art and the media.

a. Languages:  English 

b. Geographical Guidelines:  Global, with emphasis on western nations.

c. Chronological Guidelines:  18th - 21st centuries.  Monographs addressing themes of women's empowerment, entrepreneurship, and positive cultural contributions; overcoming of negative historic events, social evolution of women, and major political achievements. 

d. Treatment of Subject:  Monographs

LATIN AMERICAN HISTORY

Scope of Coverage: The Library liaison selects material related to the history and cultures of almost all Latin American countries.

a. Languages:   English.  Limited acquisitions are made in other languages when the publication has a unique value to the collection, i.e., when treatment of the subject is not available in English or in one of the major Western European languages, or when the quality of the reproductions justifies the purchase.

b. Geographical Guidelines: The Library liaison selects material related to the history and cultures of almost all Latin American nations, including Central and South America, Portugal, Spain, Mexico, and Spanish speaking peoples in the Caribbean basin and the West Indies.

c. Chronological Guidelines:   Prehistory through present.

d.  Treatment of subject:  Monographs are purchased which focus on revolutions and revolution theory, major social/political movements, independence, and post-colonization. 

MIDDLE EASTERN HISTORY:  [this is an interdisciplinary subject]

POLITICAL SCIENCE:

Scope of Coverage: The Library liaison selects material related to Political Science, politics, business, non-fiction and biography.

a. Languages:  English.

b. Geographical Guidelines:  Western hemisphere.

c. Chronological Guidelines:  20th century party politics, government science policy, and US foreign politics.  

d. Treatment of Subject:  Introductory materials and broad overviews of politics, social systems, and sociology.  

Interdisciplinary Relationships:  There are relationships between the Political Science subject area and other subject areas, including African History and Latin American History.  Additional key areas with overlapping interests include constitutional law, international law, international trade, sociology and communications.

PSYCHOLOGY

Scope of Coverage: The Library liaison selects material related to psychology.

a. Languages:  English.

b. Geographical Guidelines:  United States

c. Chronological Guidelines:  18TH-20th century and the origin of modern psychological thought.

d. Treatment of Subject:  Primary and secondary sources are purchased.  

Interdisciplinary Relationships:  Psychology has a strong relationship with entrepreneurship, communications, sociology, marketing, and organizational behavior courses.  

SOCIOLOGY  [see American History or Political Science, this is an interdisciplinary subject]

WESTERN EUROPEAN HISTORY

Scope of Coverage: The Library liaison selects material related to historical inquiry of Western Europe. Of continuing interest has been the political, cultural, sociological, and economic issues surrounding the management of and enlargement of the businesses and industries within Western Europe.

a. Languages:  English except in instances where a foreign language instruction program for study abroad is offered .  In this case items would be considered if they support history AND any intermediate or advanced foreign language class in French, Spanish, and so on.

b. Geographical Guidelines:  Western Europe including the influences of the Byzantine and Roman Empires.

c. Chronological Guidelines:   All periods from pre-history (archaeology) to the very recent past. Periods emphasized are Late Antiquity, the Middle Ages, the Early Modern period, especially the 18th century, the Modern period.

d. Treatment of Subject:  Monographs which focus on histories of civilizations and culture, races and peoples, important discoveries, and major social/political movements that impact the course of events. 

Key Content

·     Project Muse

·     Oxford Digital Reference Shelf

·     JStor

·     InfoTrac Expanded Academic

·    EBSCO Academic Search Premier

 

AFRICAN HISTORY

Africa
African Affairs
Journal of African History
Journal of Southern African Studies
Ethnic and Racial Studies
Economic development and cultural change

AMERICAN HISTORY

American Historical Review
Journal of American History
Environmental History
Journal of INterdisciplinary History
Ethnohistory


ANTHROPOLOGY

Current Anthropology

ASIAN HISTORY

China Journal
China Quarterly
Journal of Contemporary Asia
Eurasian Geography and Economics
Europe_Asia Studies
Modern China


GENDER STUDIES

Women's Health Issues
Gender and Society
Women and Health
Journal of the History of Sexuality
Sex roles
Women's studies International Forum 


LATIN AMERICAN HISTORY

Canadian Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Studies 
Colonial Latin American Historcal Review  
Delaware Review of Latin American Studies 
EIAL - Estudios Interdisciplinarios de America Latina y el Caribe
Estudios Centroamericanos 
Hispanic American Historical Review  
Journal of Iberian and Latin American Studies 
Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies  
Journal of Latin American Studies  
Terror and Political Violence
Bulletin of Latin American Research 
Journal of World Systems Research 
Latin American Perspectives 
Latin American Politics and Society 
Latin American Research Review 
Pensamiento Critico
 
MIDDLE EAST HISTORY

International Journal of Middle East Studies
Middle East Journal

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Political Science
Political Analysis
American Journal of Political Science
Comparative Political Studies

PSYCHOLOGY

Annual Review of Psychology
Psychological Bulletin


SOCIOLOGY

American Journal of Sociology
Social Networks

WESTERN EUROPEAN HISTORY

Comparative Studies in Society and History
Journal of Interdisciplinary History

AFRICAN HISTORY

 

AMERICAN HISTORY

 

  • Commager, Henry
  • Edling, Max
  • Hamilton, Alexander
  • Madison, James
  • Jay, John
  • Jensen, Merrill
  • Johnson, Herbert
  • Miller, John Chester
  • Morison, Samuel
  • Morris, Richard B
  • Rossiter, Clinton
  • Wood, Gordon S.
  • Zavodnyk, Peter    

 

ANTHROPOLOGY

  • Margaret Mead
  • Clifford Geertz
  • E.E. Evans-Pritchard
  • Franz Boas
  • Bronislaw Malinowski
  • Ruth Benedict

 

ASIAN HISTORY

 

GENDER STUDIES & WOMEN'S HISTORY

  • Simone de Beauvoir
  • Betty Friedan
  • Carol Gilligan
  • Gloria Steinem

 

 

POLITICAL SCIENCE

  • Thomas Hobbes
  • Michel Foucault
  • Max Weber
  • Michael Mann
  • Karl Marx
  • Antonio Gramsci
  • Peter Bourdieu
  • Nicos Poulantzas
  • Jurgen Habermas
  • Robert Alford
  • Joseph Schumpeter
  • Peter Blau
  • Beth Mintz
  • Alexis de Tocqueville
  • Robert D. Putnam
  • Theda Skocpol
  • Katherine Cramer Walsh
  • Charles Tilly
  • Edwin Amenta
  • Gil Eyal

 

PSYCHOLOGY

  • Sigmund Freud
  • Jean Piaget
  • Carl Gustav Jung
  • Jacques Lacan

 

SOCIOLOGY

 

WESTERN EUROPEAN HISTORY

 

AMERICAN HISTORY

  • James Hoopes
  • Marjorie Feld
  • Jeffrey Melnick

 

ASIAN HISTORY

  • Kandice Hauf
  • Lisa DiCarlo

 

LATIN AMERICAN HISTORY

  • Blake Pattridge

 

POLITICAL SCIENCE

  • Kevin Bruyneel
  • Katherine Lawrence Balfour

 

PSYCHOLOGY

  • Charles Rotman

 

WESTERN EUROPEAN HISTORY

  • John Marthinsen
  • Lisa DiCarlo

Print Collection

For most of the history as well as political science topics, all dates of publication are of interest. Exceptions are:

  • Latin American: All dates of publication are of interest, with current day scholarship of particular interest.
  • Western European: The collection is both current and retrospective. Out of print materials are acquired if requested by faculty or students, to replace missing items, and to fill in areas of weakness identified by the liaison.

 

Psychology, generally all dates are of interest, however, older materials should be reviewed and evaluated for adherence to contemporary psychological convention.  Older materials which provide history of classic theorists and practitioners (or their work) will be retained.

BF Psychology
C Auxiliary Sciences of History (e.g. Archaeology, Biography)
D History: General & Old World
E – F History: American
GN, GT Anthropology, Manners & Customs
H Social Sciences
HM Sociology
HN – HV Society & Social Issues
HX Social systems
J Political Science
JZ International Relations
L Education
P Philology, Linguistics, Communications & Mass Media

Ugrad courses supported

AFRICAN HISTORY

Africa since 1800

Islam

Slavery

 

AMERICAN HISTORY 

1920’s United States 

Alcohol 

African American Studies

Cold War 

Ethnic groups 

Gender study 

History of Capitalism 

History of labor  

Hist & Culture of American Business

Industrial revolution 

Making of Modern America

Native American  

Political science 

Terrorism 

 

ANTHROPOLOGY -- see also American History or Asian History

Anthropology of food

Anthropology of Media

Cultural Anthropology

Media Studies

 

 

ASIAN HISTORY

History of China

Women in China

Anthropology of Turkey  

 

GENDER STUDIES

Women’s history

Women in China

Sexuality and Power in Modern Society

 

LATIN AMERICAN HISTORY

Bourbon Reforms

Capitalism

Democracy

Independence

Latin American ties with U.S. 

Mexican Revolution

Mexican-American War

NAFTA  

Nation building

Peoples and Cultures of the Americas

Pre-Columbian civilizations

Revolutions

Spanish conquests of Aztecs

 

MIDDLE EAST HISTORY

History of Middle East

 

 

POLITICAL SCIENCE

            Comparative Politics

 

PSYCHOLOGY

Intro to psychology

Abnormal psychology

 

SOCIOLOGY

Sociology of Families

    

WESTERN EUROPEAN HISTORY 

Age of European Reformation 

Ancient Greece 

Christian Middle Ages 

Cultural expression  

Ethics  

Modern European History

Social responsibility 

Immigration  

Population movements 

Scientific Revolution