Horn Library Content Strategy

Collection Description: Math & Science

Quantitative Methods

The collection supports courses at the undergraduate and graduate level,s MCFE, Internships, and Independent Study.  Subjects of particular interest are:

  • Quantitative Methods with Calculus - differential calculus, linear programming, linear and non-linear optimization, functions, break-even, marginal analysis, depreciation.
  • Probability and Statistics - data collection, data analysis, probability rules and distributions, sampling distributions, confidence intervals, and hypothesis testing.
  • Applied Quantitative Modeling - linear regression, time series analysis, process control and total quality management, decision analysis, simulation, and applied financial modeling.
  • Mathematical Modeling - feedback phenomena, population dynamics, competition dynamics, analysis of stable and chaotic systems, linear algebra, and Markov analysis.
  • Discrete Mathematics - sets, graphs and trees.
  • Applied Statistics - advanced regression analysis, measures of association, survey sampling techniques and experimental design.
  • Decision Support Models- decision trees and tables, simulation, project scheduling,
  • Matrix algebra, optimization, sensitivity analysis
  • Quantitative Models for Investment - Markowitz investment paradigm, Capital Asset Pricing Model, Taylor expansions, statistical estimation of asset parameters, the stochastic calculus of options and futures, Pearson and Spearman Rank correlation and computer based simulation models. Data mining.

 

Science

The collection supports supplemental reading and term projects as well as MCFE, Internship, and Independent Research projects.  The collection supports science topics used for undergraduate and graduate study in business related disciplines, specifically environmental concerns and sustainability, nanotechnology, astronomy, mining, and biotechnology.

Quantitative Methods

a.   Languages:  Generally English.  Some Spanish language materials may be acquired.

b.   Treatment of Subject: College level treatment to advance critical thinking and numeric competency.  Emphasis on applications in business and economics.  Primarily periodicals and monographs are collected.  Faculty recommended textbooks, videos; multimedia, software, and statistical databases may be purchased.  Statistical materials should be purchased in electronic format.  Access to statistical sets needed for projects will be acquired. We do not collect textbooks or dissertations in this area; except for textbooks to put on reserve for Basic Statistics.  Assignments in some courses require the use of corporate financial statements or investment statistics.  Recommended industry applications:  automotive, pharmaceutical, financial services, consumer electronics, computers, snack food and beverages.  Career materials will be collected.

Interdisciplinary Relationships: Materials purchased for Quantitative Methods could be used for statistical analysis in economics, finance, operations management, marketing, MIS and science courses.

Science

a.   Languages:  Acquisitions are restricted to English language materials.

b.   Geographical Guidelines:  The primary focus is the U.S.  Environmental/sustainability issues are covered globally.

c.   Treatment of Subject: Popular and beginning college level scientific treatment to advance critical thinking and science literacy.  Some theoretical materials will be purchased but those with application to business or industry are preferred.  Basic encyclopedias and handbooks that address topics in specific courses will be purchased.  Primarily periodicals and monographs and some basic reference items are collected.   Faculty recommended books, audiovisual; software and multimedia products may be purchased.  Biographical materials are seldom purchased unless the subject has made a significant contribution in the industrial or business field. Encyclopedias and directories should be purchased in electronic format where possible.  Textbooks are not purchased.  Career-related materials may also be purchased.

Interdisciplinary Relationships:  Materials purchased for Science courses could be used by students in the Rhetoric program, ECN3635 (Process of Technological Change), and graduate level courses covering industries such as biotechnology and technology product development/innovation.  Topics of current interest are environmentally friendly companies, technological innovation, and new product development in the pharmaceutical and biotech industries.

Key Content

  • AccessScience (Encyclopedia of Science and Technology)
  • Environmental Resource Handbook
  • GreenFile (EBSCOhost)
  • Health Reference Center (InfoTrac)
  • ScienceDirect (Journals)

Math:  American Mathematical Monthly, Jrnl of Math and Statistics, Jrnl of Applied Mathematics and Decsion Sciences, Jrnl of Amer Statistical Assn., Jrnl of Financial and Quantitative Analysis, SIAM Jrnl on Applied Mathematics

Science: Nature, ScienceNews, Scientific American, Ecology and Society, Environmental Science and Policy, Environmental Hazards, Global Environmental Change, Journal of Biotechnology, Jrnl of Commercial Biotechnology, Nature Biotechnology

Earl K. Bowen, Richard J. Cleary, Nathan Karst, Dennis F. X. Mathaisel, Dessislava Pachamanova, Gordon D. Pritchett, Terence Reilly, John C. Saber, 

Print Collection

Quantitative Methods: Emphasis is on recent materials and new applications. Core publications will be retained.

Science: Materials more than 5 years old will be retained only if they meet at least one of the following criteria:    

  • They are basic reference tools and have not been superseded, 
  • They are classics, i.e.
    • They provide historical background for the nuclear processing industry or the environmental movement,
    • They discuss the impact of science and technology on American business.
HA 1-39 Statistics: Statistical Methods
1401-2210 Agriculture
HF 5691-5715 Business Mathematics
Q 1-299 Science
QA 1-69 Mathematics
QA 101-9999 Mathematics cont'd
QB-QZ Science
R Medicine
S Agriculture
U – V Military & Naval Science

Courses Supported

QTM1300-15 APP CALCULUS

QTM1310-01 PROB & STATS

QTM2300-01 HNRS APPLIED CALCULUS

QTM2420-01 APPLIED QUANT MODELING

QTM2600-01 LINEAR ALGEBRA & DYNAMICAL SYS

QTM3610-01 APPLIED MULTIVARIATE STATISTICS

QTM3620-01 OPERATIONS RESEARCH TR

 

CN1320-A01 SEARCH FOR LIFE IN THE UNIVERSE

SCN1330-A01 OCEANOGRAPHY

SCN1340-A01 BIODIVERSITY AND THE ENVIRONMENT

SCN2410-B01 ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY

 SCN2420-B01 BIOTECHNOLOGY

SCN2430-B01 ELECTRONIC TECHNOLOGY

SCN3615-01 ECOLOGY OF ANIMAL BEHAVIOR

SCN3625-01 ETHICAL ISSUES IN RESEARCH & TECHNOLOGY

SCN3630-01 ECONOMIC BOTANY