Horn Library Content Strategy

Supporting the Management Division

Profile Photo
Samantha Porter
Contact:
Subject Specialties: Entrepreneurship, Management, Marketing, OIM

Collection Description: Management

Management collections support the two areas of focus within the Babson curriculum:  organizational behavior and strategy and design.  The content focus is on materials to support undergraduate and MBA research in organizational behavior, labor and corporate relations, strategic design.

Particular themes collected in greater depth are:

  • women in management
  • leadership
  • innovation and change management
  • technology and diversity in the workplace
  • team building and group dynamics
  • competitive intelligence and industry analysis
  • supply chain managment
  • global business and country analysis
  • cross-cultural communications

 

Related issues concerning business ethics and corporate responsibility are collected at a basic level.  The collections overlap somewhat with entrepreneurship and technology management.  The courses below are supported at a basic level.

Languages: Materials should be in English; however foreign language materials at a basic level may be added but are not actively sought.

Geographical guidelines: Primary emphasis is in on United States perspective, with a secondary emphasis on global business practices. Some materials are collected on general working and management culture and conditions in European, South American, and Asian countries and supplemented with multidisciplinary country studies.

Chronological: Emphasis in on current conditions with some basic historical perspectives. Older market data and late 20th century company histories are needed for certain case studies.

Treatment: Monographs are both printed and electronic, with select subject encyclopedias and handbooks available through the Virtual Reference Library.  Reports and country analysis for course assignments are available through various services like the EIU Reports, ISI Emerging Markets, Euromonitor GMID, and Business Monitor International.  Topics of individual monographs focus on narrowly defined topics (ie. leadership, group communications, or strategic management), comparative cross-cultural studies, individual and collective biographies of major leaders of all types and histories of companies in emphasized industries. General histories of management theory are also needed. Selective popular treatments are collected to represent current trends or fads, especially as they influence business development.

Key Content

Cases:  Information and links to sites where cases may be purchased (HBS, ECCH, Darden, etc.)

Journals:  Content providers include EBSCOhost's Business Source Complete, Proquest's ABIInform, JSTOR, Science Direct, Web of Science, and Emerald. 

Books:  Printed books and e-book collections (Books 24X7, eBrary, EBSCOhost ebook Collection, Gale Virtual Reference Library)

AudioBooks and Multimedia:  EBSCOhost Audiobook Collection, ExecSummaries,  DVDs, videos

Industry resources:  IBISWorld, Standard & Poor Netadvantage, Business and Company Resource Center

Reports:  Social Science Research Network (SSRN), Conference Board, Emerging Markets Information Service, EIU Reports, Business Monitor International, Euromonitor GMID, NBER Working Papers, SourceOECD, World Bank eLibrary

  • Academy of Management Review
  • Academy of Management Journal
  • Harvard Business Review
  • MIS Quarterly
  • MIT Sloan Management Review
  • Strategic Management Journal
  • Journal of Management
  • Organizational Research Methods

Allen Cohen, Peter Drucker, Rosabeth Moss Kanter, Jeffrey Pfeffer, Michael Porter, Peter Senge.

Allan R. Cohen, Anne Donnellon, Danna Greenberg, Nan S. Langowitz, Joseph R. Weintraub

Print Collection

Dates of Publications:  Emphasis is on current materials not more than three years old.  Historical materials on the development of the industry and their effects on business and society are useful.  Materials more than 5 years old will be retained only if they meet at least one of the following criteria:

  •   They are basic reference tools and have not been superseded by virtual works
  •   They are classics, or company case studies,
  •   They provide historical background for the industry.
HD 28-59 Industrial Management
HF 5500-5549 Personnel Management
HF 5717-5780 Business Communication & Shipping

Courses Supported

  • MFE3574 Management Consulting Field Experience
  • MOB3512 Leadership
  • MOB3515 Human Resource Management
  • MOB33518 Arts & Entertainment Management: Balancing Creative Passion & Business Savvy
  • MOB3560 International Business Enterprise
  • MOB3580 Negotiations
  • MOB3581 Issues in Leadership and Ethics
  • MOB3582 Global Management Communication
  • MOB4510 Strategic Decision Making
  • MOB4572 MANAGEMENT CONSULTING

COM7500 Business and Technical Presentations

ENG7500 Business Writing for Managers

  • MOB7010 Organizational Behavior
  • FT Negotiations (MOB7120-55)
  • MOB7170 Developing International Ventures
  • MOB7513 MANAGEMENT CONSULTING
  • MOB7515 Strategic Human Resources for Managers
  • MOB7520 Corporate Strategies ( formerly) Advanced Strategic Management
  • MOB7525 Opportunity Assessment in Latin America (Doing Business In Latin America)
  • MOB7526 Doing Business in Brazil
  • MOB7541 Crisis Communication
  • MOB7542 Corporate Communication in the Digital Age
  • MOB 7543: Managing in a Diverse Workplace – Blended
  • MOB7545 Leading and Managing Change