Horn Library Content Strategy

Reference Strategy

The primary sources for reference information are online. We have replaced as many standard print reference works such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, company and other directories, handbooks, etc. with their online counterparts to facilitate access to these resources to a broader audience.  The collection includes authoritative reference works across all disciplines.  We have highlighted some key titles that are not on our Databases A-Z page in a research guide called Specialized Directories & Reference Works. 

The move from print to online and the integration of the remaining print reference titles into the general colection enabled us to provide more collaborative as well as individual study space for students in the Library.  Since print reference usage had declined considerably, students appreciate increased study space and online access.  

Key Virtual Reference Collections

  • CQ/Sage Titles
  • Gale Directory Library
  • Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  • Oxford Art Online
  • Oxford Music Online
  • Oxford Digital Reference Shelf

Key Online Reference Single Titles

  • Advertising Red Books
  • American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries/Foreign Firms Operating in the US
  • American Wholesalers & Distributors Directory
  • Brands and Their Companies/Companies and Their Brands
  • Britannica Online Academic Edition
  • Business Plans Handbook
  • Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
  • Casebase: Case Studies in Global Business
  • Congress and the Nation
  • Directory of Private Equity and Venture Capital Firms
  • Encyclopedia of Associations (US & International)
  • Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies
  • International Directory of Company Histories
  • Market Share Reporter & World Market Share Reporter
  • McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology (AccessScience)
  • Mergent WebReports (Historical Moody's/Mergent's Manuals)
  • Oxford English Dictionary
  • Political Handbook of the World
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
  • Value of a Dollar
  • Washington Information Directory