LibGuides: Management Consulting Field Experience (MCFE) Library Resources Guide: Company Information

Quick Start

It is ABSOLUTELY important to perform due diligence research on your focus company to know their internal perspective, the industry perspective of their position and an expert perspective on their performance (such as from an investment analyst report). Use the links to the resources below to do that level of research.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ accounts are now automatically set up upon logging in, only your Babson login is required for access.The redirect to the Capital IQ homepage can take several seconds. Please accept cookies and the Terms of Use.
Use this for complex financial statement and comparables analysis, financial modeling, sector analysis and charting for companies worldwide.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information, recent analyst reports, and more on US and global companies. Also includes industry reports and country snapshots.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Financial and operating data on global public and private companies plus S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research), Use this as a compact version of CapitalIQ.

COMPANY INVESTOR RELATIONS WEBSITE - be sure to find and navigate to the IR section of a public company site which will provide company investor presentations, all filing documents and informative teleconferences/transcripts with analyst questioning of company management.

AtoZdatabases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this directory to search for U.S. companies and healthcare professionals to compile targeted lists for job searches or course assignments.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on companies, deals and investors.

Finding Company Information by Type

Investext This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find investment research reports containing detailed information and analysis on publicly traded companies in a wide variety of industries. The reports are written by analysts at leading brokerage houses, investment banks and research firms worldwide.

Morningstar- Investing Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stocks, mutual funds ETFs, investing categories
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information, recent analyst reports, and more on US and global companies. Also includes industry reports and country snapshots.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information, recent analyst reports, and more on US and global companies. Also includes industry reports and country snapshots.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ accounts are now automatically set up upon logging in, only your Babson login is required for access.The redirect to the Capital IQ homepage can take several seconds. Please accept cookies and the Terms of Use.
Use this for complex financial statement and comparables analysis, financial modeling, sector analysis and charting for companies worldwide.
Business Insights: Essentials ( see Gale Business: Insights)
This database is now called Gale Business: Insights..

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information, recent analyst reports, and more on US and global companies. Also includes industry reports and country snapshots.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ accounts are now automatically set up upon logging in, only your Babson login is required for access.The redirect to the Capital IQ homepage can take several seconds. Please accept cookies and the Terms of Use.
Use this for complex financial statement and comparables analysis, financial modeling, sector analysis and charting for companies worldwide.

Company Website - will often list top executives. Look for sections related to "Leadership" or "Corporate Governance"

Any of these sources allows you to specify dates for your news scan.

Business Source Premier - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly business journals in all business disciplines; plus company, industry, market research, and country reports and analyses. Includes Harvard Business Review.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information, recent analyst reports, and more on US and global companies. Also includes industry reports and country snapshots.

POWERSEARCH will search many of the library article databases for news and more, use the Publication Date slide bar to adjust your date search parameter.

Company Websites - Company web sites can sometimes provide a good overview of how the company operates. Type your company name into Google to locate the correct company homepage.

International Directory of Company Histories
Provides histories of companies that are major players in their particular industry.

Business Source Premier - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly business journals in all business disciplines; plus company, industry, market research, and country reports and analyses. Includes Harvard Business Review.
Business Insights: Essentials ( see Gale Business: Insights)
This database is now called Gale Business: Insights..
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find company financials, competitor, customer, and supplier information, recent analyst reports, and more on US and global companies. Also includes industry reports and country snapshots.
Company Dossier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find brief information on thousands of U.S. and international companies.