Suggested Titles
- Cambridge encyclopedia of languages
Call Number: P29 .C64 (REF) - Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
Call Number: P87.5.W38 (REF) - An encyclopedic dictionary of language and languages
Call Number: P29 .C68 (REF) - Handbook of Language and Ethnic Identity
Call Number: P35 .H34 (REF) - History of the Mass Media in the United States: an encyclopedia
Call Number: P92 .U5 H55 - International Encyclopedia of Communications, 4-volume set (vol 2 missing)
Call Number: P87.5.15 - International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, 4 volumes
Call Number: P29 .I58 - Language and Communication: a cross cultural encyclopedia
Call Number: P29. F47 (REF) - Linguisitical cultures of the world: a statistical reference
Call Number: P35 .P29 (REF - Linguistics Encyclopedia
Call Number: P29 .L52 (REF) - Webster's New Dictionary of Media and Communications
Call Number: P87.5. W45
Guide Overview
This resource guide lists the key library databases and resources to start researching media and communication. This guide is meant to complement your studies in the communications, film appreciation, and media studies. E-Books, articles, and websites are collected here.
Websites
Websites on media, in the wild
- All Movie Guide
“Only able to remember a few details about a film? This site offers a cross-referenced index which allows you to search more than 200,000 feature films and documentaries using an unlimited combination of features or criteria." - American Film Institute's 100 Years...100 Movies "This is the American Film Institute's list of America's 100 Greatest Movies, selected by AFI's blue-ribbon panel of more than 1,500 leaders of the American movie community. Click on movie titles to find out more" about each film.”
- Communication Studies, Cultural Studies, and Media Studies Infobase
- FAIR: Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
- Film 100 List of the 100 "most influential people in the history of the movies".
- Film Experts REA Film has established a team of U.S. and International film experts who wish to share their expertise by answering your questions ranging from the history of film to the workings of the motion picture industry. " Also features a best film site of the w
- The Internet Movie Database “AKA Cardiff's Movie Database Browser, this searchable database contains information on individual films, actors, directors, composers, and genres. Also has a special section on Academy Award winners and nominees.”
- Media Literacy Online Project - from the University of Oregon at Eugene's College of Education
- Motion Picture Association of America “Find information about the MPAA, the history and explanation of the movie ratings system used in the United States and related issues here. The site includes a searchable database to find the rating of a specific movie.”
- NPR's Media Page
Librarian |




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait