Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Citing Sources & Creating Bibliographies  Tags: citing citing_sources bibliographies works_cited  

Learn about available citation software as well as how to properly create bibliographies, works cited lists, and in-line citations. (The citation software can do it for you!)
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.babson.edu/citing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citation Examples             Print Page
  
 

MLA Citation Basics

Here are the basics to use to cite electronic sources in MLA style. Always include as much information, as is available/applicable:

  • Author and/or editor names
  • Name of the database, or title of project, book, article
  • Any version numbers available
  • Date of version, revision, or posting
  • Publisher information
  • Date you accessed the material
  • Electronic address, printed between [<>].

Use whichever style your professor recommends. For additional MLA examples, visit the MLA site, or use EndNote or RefWorks citation software. Some of the databases, such as EBSCOhost and ProQuest have a citation button to display how to format citations for each record.

 
 

Citation Examples

Book

Basic Format: Lastname, Firstname. Book Title. Publisher Location: Publisher, Copyright Date.

 

Example: Eagly, Alice H., and Linda L. Carli. Through the Labyrinth: The Truth about how Women Become Leaders. Boston, Massachusetts: Harvard Business School Press, 2007.

 

Ebook

Basic Format: Lastname, Firstname. Book Title. Publisher Location: Publisher. Copyright Date. Electronic publication. Date viewed <Web Address>

 

Taylor, James.  Managing Information Technology Projects: Applying Project Management Strategies to Software, Hardware, and Integration Initiatives.  New York: AMACOM, 2004. Books24x7.  16 August 2006 <http://library.books24x7.com>.

 

Journal Article

Basic Format: Lastname, Firstname. “Article Title,” Journal Title. Volume Number.Issue Number (Publication Date) ; Number of pages. Database Name. Source of Access. Date Accessed. <Web Address>

 

Tedlow, Richard S. "Leaders in Denial," Harvard Business Review 86.7/8 (July 2008): 18-19. Business Source Complete. EBSCO. Babson College Horn Library, Babson Park, MA. 18 Aug. 2008 <http://search.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.babson.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=32707748&site=ehost-live>.

 

Devin Leonard. "Rockin' Along in the Shadow of iTunes. "  Fortune  19  Feb.  2007:  30.  ABI/INFORM Global. ProQuest.  Babson College Horn Library, Babson Park, MA. 13 Aug. 2008 <http://www.proquest.com.ezproxy.babson.edu/>

 

 

Company Profile

Basic Format: “Profile Name.” Database Name. Date Published, Posted or Updated. Database Publisher. Source of Access Date Accessed. <Web Address>

 

 

“Dell Inc. Public Company Profile.” Capital IQ. August 18, 2008. Standard & Poor’s. Babson College Horn Library, Babson Park, MA. 18 August 2008.  <http://www.capitaliq.com>

 

Business Database

Bloomberg [Online]. (18 August 2008). Available: Bloomberg. <http://www.bloomberg.com>

 

 

Statistical Data

Basic Format: Database Name. Date Published, Posted or Updated. Database Publisher. Source of Access Date Accessed. <Web Address>

 

 

Analyst Reports

Basic Format: Lastname, Firstname. Report Name. Report Publisher Information, Publication Date. Database Name. Database Publisher. Source of Access Date Accessed. <Web Address>

 

Miscioscia, Louis R., Suhail Chandy, Ryan Himmel. Dell Upgrade to Outperform (1) Back on Track. Cowen and Company, 31 July 2008. Thomson One Banker. Thomson Financial. Babson College Horn Library, Babson Park, MA 18 August 2008. http://banker.thomsonib.com/

 

 

Market Research Report

Basic Format: “Article Name.” Report Name. Publication Date. Database Name. Database Publisher. Source of Access Date Accessed. <Web Address>

 

"Mobile Phone Services in US 72233." IBISWorld Market Research. 7 October 2005.  IBISWorld. Babson College Horn Lib., Babson Park, MA. 21 January 2006. http://www.ibisworld.com

 

Example without a table.

Mintel. "Athletic Shoes - USA". May 2006. Mintel Reports. Babson College Horn Library, Babson Park, MA. 13 Sept. 2006 <http://reports.mintel.com>.

 

Example with a table from the report.

Mintel. Figure 11: Total U.S. unit sales of footwear 2000-05, Source: Mintel/AAFA  in "Athletic Shoes - USA". May, 2006. Mintel Reports. Babson College Horn Library, Babson Park, MA. 13 Sept. 2006 <http://reports.mintel.com>.

 

 

Data from WRDS Format:

 

Compustat Industrial [Annual Data]. (Years). Available: Standard & Poor's/Compustat [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.

 

CRSP Stocks. (Years). Available: Center For Research in Security Prices. Graduate School of Business. University of Chicago [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.

 

CRSP Mutual Funds . (Years). Available: Center For Research in Security Prices. Graduate School of Business. University of Chicago [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.

 

Standard & Poor's Execucomp. (Years). Available: Standard & Poor's [Access Date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.

 

 

SWOT Analysis

 

Anheuser-Busch Companies, Inc. SWOT Analysis." Anheuser-Busch Companies, Inc. SWOT Analysis (June 2007): 1. Business Source Complete. EBSCO. Babson College Horn Library, Babson Park, MA. 13 Aug. 2008 <http://search.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.babson.edu/ >.

 

 

Free Website

Basic Format: “Section Name (if relevant).” Web Site Title. Date Created or Updated. Creator. Date Viewed. <Web Address>

 

PepsiCo 2007 Annual Report. 2007. PepsiCo. 18 August 2008. http://www.pepsico.com/AnnualReports/07/index.html

 

 “Caret.” Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia. 28 April 2006. 10 May 2006 <http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Caret&oldid=157510440>.

 

Yahoo Finance! 2008. Yahoo Inc. 15 August 2008 <http://finance.yahoo.com>

 

 

For additional MLA examples, visit the MLA site

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait