1 - Databases Off Campus 2 - Databases On-Campus3 - Alternate/Equivalent Databases4 - Local Library Databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Services for Alumni 

Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.babson.edu/alumni  Print Guide  RSS Updates

4 - Local Library Databases             Print Page
  

More Database Info

 

Get Horn Library Databases Off Campus

Since the beginning of 2008, alumni have free, online access to some of the same important research databases you relied upon as a student: access 14 important databases at your home or office.

  • Get overviews, histories, or reports on public or private U.S. or international companies.
  • Read the latest business briefings in your native language.
  • Get free access to The Wall Street Journal online through Factiva.

You'll need your alumni username and password to use the resources.

Get your username/password by contacting Alumni Relations: alumrel@babson.edu.

Enjoy this benefit for personal or professional non-commercial use.
* Note: Babson's licensing agreements strictly prohibit any commercial use of these databases.

 
 

Local Public Libraries

Your local public library may provide access to electronic resources within their library and from home or office. Check out your library's web site or speak with one of their reference librarians.

Some information about state libraries is provided below.

 

Massachusetts Residents

Massachusetts residents can obtain remote access to some databases through their local public libraries by going to the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and entering the barcode on their public library card.

The Boston Public Library provides access to their e-resources collection via an e-card. Sign up to access their databases.

 

New York Residents

Within the New York City area, the Science, Industry and Business Library of the New York Public Library offers databases, both at NYPL locations and from home with a valid NYPL library card.

This includes the EBSCOhost database called Business Source Premier, which is an excellent source for business articles from trade publications as well as academic business journals.

For more analytical databases, such as Bloomberg, you will need to visit the library.

See their complete list of databases.

 

Other States

Each state has its own information policy and infrastructure, and offers its own mix of databases and access. For example:

  • In Northern Virginia’s Fairfax County library system, local residents with a library card have access not only to InfoTrac’s Business and Company Resource Center and EBSCOhost’s Business Source Elite, but also to ProQuest, which includes the Wall Street Journal.
  • California has its own offerings, including the extensive network available through the statewide educational system.
  • Florida libraries, such as the public libraries in Dade County, prefer that you contact them directly, to find out what is available off-site.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait