1 - Databases Off Campus 2 - Databases On-Campus3 - Alternate/Equivalent Databases4 - Local Library Databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Services for Alumni 

Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.babson.edu/alumni  Print Guide  RSS Updates

3 - Alternate/Equivalent Databases             Print Page
  
 

Information

Use the grid to find alternative databases or alternative resources for the databases that are restricted to students, faculty and staff.

The MA Board of Library Commissioners offers access to several databases for residents with a MA library card. Use the barcode on your MA library card to log in.

The Boston Public Library provides access to their e-resources collection via an e-card. Sign up to access their databases.

Alumni also have access to several databases from off-campus.

More Database Info

 
 

Alternate/Equivalent Databases

Database NameSubstitutes for Alumni/ae
Ad$pender No easy equivalent.
  • Try finding business articles using searches like: reebok and (advertis* or ads or market* or ad budget*)
  • Use the Advertising Red Books
Books 24x7
  • Search Babson's Library Catalog
  • Search your local public library's catalog.
    More info on resources available at local public libraries.
BCC Research
Capital IQ
CCH Tax Research Network

No equivalent for analysis portion; for articles that treat tax cases, use ProQuest and combine class.code for personal taxation, which is 4230 with subject court decisions.
Primary documents (Internal Revenue Code, Internal Revenue Manual, Treasury Regulations, Bills)are available on the web.

Company Dossier - LexisNexis
Compustat Research Insight No easy equivalent.
Demographics Data
Euromonitor GMID
Factset

Portfolio tool - no easy equivalent.

Factiva
Forrester Research
Global Insight DataInsight-Web
  • World Development Indicators
  • Reference Books:
    • International Financial Statistics: Ref HG3881 .I632 (Monthly editions in periodicals stacks.
    • International Trade Statistics: Ref HF91.U473
    • Business Statistics of the U.S.: Ref HA211.U5 .B77
IBISWorld
IBISWorld China & Global
ISI Emerging Markets No easy equivalent.
  • Try article databases.
  • Reference Book: Global Competitiveness Report: Ref HB238.G56 (On reserve at Info Desk 1.)
LexisNexis Academic
Mediamark Reporter with MRI+
No easy equivalent.
Mergent Bondviewer
  • Mergent WebReports or try Mergent Online via the Boston Public Library. (See note in left column about access to BPL resources.)
Mintel No easy equivalent.
RMA eStatement Studies Use print alternatives - the most recent copies for all are on reserve at Information Desk 1. All back issues are in the stacks (2nd floor).
  • RMA Annual Statement Studies: Ref HF5681.R25 .R62
  • D&B Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios: Ref HF5681.R25 .I53
  • Troy Almanac: Ref HF5681.R25 .T68
Scarborough Arbitron Qualitap No easy equivalent.
Socrates No easy equivalent.
Thomson Deals Use print alternatives - all are on reserve at Information Desk 1.
  • Pratt's Guide to Private Equity: Ref HG65.P73
  • Directory of Venture Capital & Private Equity: Ref HG4751.D57
Thomson ONE Banker
  • For financial statements:
  • Also try Mergent Online via the Boston Public Library. (See note in left column about access to BPL resources.)
Value Line Research Center Use the print equivalent in the periodicals stacks.
WRDS - Wharton Research Data Services No easy equivalent
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait