Databases for Alumni Use
Alumni may use many of the Library's databases, though most are only accessible on-campus due to contract agreements.
The resources on this page may be used off-campus.
For other resources, see the other pages in this section:
Made Available to You By...
Since the beginning of 2008, alumni have free, online access to some of the same important research databases you relied upon as a student.
Previously, this important student benefit ended after your first 6 months following graduation.
Now, thanks to Babson with the help of gifts and pledges from the MBA Class of 2007, this benefit is available to you.
The gift brings the rewards of 14 important databases right to your home or office at no cost to you.
Use These Databases Off Campus

- Get overviews, histories, or reports on public or private U.S. or international companies.
- Read the latest business briefings in your native language.
- Get free access to The Wall Street Journal online through Factiva.
You'll need your alumni username and password to use the resources below.
Get your username/password by contacting Alumni Relations: alumrel@babson.edu.
Enjoy this benefit for personal or professional non-commercial use.
* Note: Babson's licensing agreements strictly prohibit any commercial use of these databases.
- ABI/Inform - ProQuest CSA Market trends, business conditions, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics from 1,500+ journals worldwide.
- Academic Search Alumni Edition - EBSCOhost Information in nearly every area of academic study, including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
- Business & Company Resource Center - InfoTrac Excellent for locating current articles on companies & industries in the many business & management journals, trade/industry periodicals, local area business journals, and more.
Also get company profiles from Ward's Business Directory and Graham & Whiteside's World Company Series. - Business Source Alumni Edition - EBSCOhost Nearly every area of business covered, including marketing, management, accounting, fin, econometrics, econ & more.
Features include: coverage of all major industries, SWOT analyses, company profiles, and more. - CQ Electronic Library A definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
- CQ Researcher CQ Researcher (formerly Congressional Quarterly) examines contemporary issues that affect the public at large. Topics range from global warming to child labor.
- Directory of Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms Provides contact and investment information for 2,300 VC Firms, over 10,000 Managing Partners and over 11,500 VC Investments.
To learn more, download the user guide. - Entrepreneurship Database - Proquest Covers a wide spectrum of resources for educators, researchers, students and practitioners.
Content includes journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings, practical guides, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneurs. - Environmental Resource Handbook Business-building database that provides immediate access to thousands of environmental resources.
- Factiva Full text of The Wall Street Journal, Barron's, The Boston Globe, 3 months of The New York Times, 8,000 other publications, 20,000 company reports, and 8,500 editorially selected business Web sites.
Note: Please be sure to 'Log Out' when you are done as our license only allows for five simultaneous users. - Global Road Warrior Ultimate business travel guide.
Covers 175 countries and includes information on; climate, business culture, money and banking, security, health and medical, transportation, embassies and consulates, maps, and more. - ReferenceUSA Contains detailed information on more than 14 million US businesses, 210 million US residents, 855,000 US health care providers as well as 12 million Canadian businesses.
- Small Business Resource Center - InfoTrac Articles, guides, sample documents with information on how to start, finance, or manage your small business.
Resources include sample business plans, how-to guides, articles and websites. - Vault Industry & Career Guides Industry & career guides, including employer profiles; books & reports offering advice on consulting case interviews, financial interviews, and career trends.
Note: In order to view the guides, you must have the latest edition of Acrobat Reader.




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait