What is the Content Strategy?
The Horn Library Content Strategy articulates the guiding principles and processes for information resource management at the library. This includes managing the complete life cycle of information resources, whether subscribed to or owned, including:
- Assessment: Identification, evaluation, selection of resources
- Acquisition: Licensing, purchasing, processing
- Implementation: Providing access, trouble-shooting and maintenance, usage tracking
- Integration into instruction: Teaching use of resources, promoting resources
- Reassessment: Renewal, cancellation/removal, replacement, archiving
Horn Library resources support the curriculum and mission of the college. These resources include library information sources and collections, the institutional repository "Digital Knowledge at Babson," and the Archives.
The Content Strategy is dynamic and responsive to changes in Babson's strategy, information needs, technology, financial resources, and the nature of information sources.
The Content Strategy is freely accessible on the Horn Library website.
What is the Library's Mission?
The Horn Library is a creative partner in the development and dissemination of knowledge that serves to connect ideas, people, and information across the Babson community. We provide a dynamic learning and research environment that facilitates access to world class resources and expertise in the effective and ethical use of information. Our goal is to foster information discovery, business innovation, and independent lifelong learning in support of entrepreneurial values and scholarship.
What are the College's Mission & Vision?
Babson's Mission and Vision
- Our mission is to educate a generation of leaders who create great economic and social value ... everywhere;
- To do so, we want to be the preeminent institution for entrepreneurial thought and action—and known for it;
- We want to embrace people, planet and profit issues simultaneously, not sequentially;
- We want to extend our global reach to have an impact on the world;
- We want to create a diverse, multi-cultural and inclusive community of highly talented students, faculty and staff; and
- We want to be prosperous and sustainable, with ample resources for our work.
For more detail, please consult the strategy page on Babson's website.
- Horn Library's information resources reflect Babson College's integrated business curriculum, the college's focus on entrepreneurial thought and action, and faculty research.
-- Resources in the areas of entrepreneurship, marketing, finance and accounting, economics, organizational behavior, information systems, and operations support the college's integrated programs. In-depth coverage is given to entrepreneurship, industry content, company histories, and global studies.
-- The arts, cultural topics, history, humanities, language studies, literature, math, and the sciences are represented at a level consistent with the college's fundamental liberal arts and sciences curriculum.
- Horn Library provides a dynamic, real-world learning environment that equips students with state-of-the-art resources and fosters innovation.
-- The Stephen D. Cutler Center for Investments and Finance, located within Horn Library, is one example of a real world learning environment that was created through a partnership with the Finance Division.
- Horn Library aims to make its content broadly accessible to the Babson community on- and off-campus.
-- Whether for distance learning programs, abroad programs, global alumni, or simply for students, faculty, and staff who want to access information remotely, the library favors resources that are available on the internet and function by IP authentication.
-- Electronic resources include academic and popular journal databases; electronic book collections, including e-audiobooks, across all disciplines; demographic and statistical databases; databases with in-depth company information; industry and market research sources; online reference sources; global/country information resources; and more.
- Horn Library is a community space for information discovery, innovative thinking, and dynamic learning.
-- The print and audiovisual materials in the library complement the electronic resources offered in support of the college's curricula.
-- The library provides ample space for individual and group study, computers for accessing the library's e-resources, and comfortable seating areas for browsing/reading and social gatherings.
- Horn Library encourages and promotes reading.
-- The library provides an extensive magazine browsing collection; the "Community Collection" which is a browsing collection of new books on diversity, culture, ethics, social responsibility, language materials, popular fiction and graphic novels; highlights new books acquired; and promotes the READ! Campaign which solicits faculty and staff recommendations for professional and leisure reading.
- Horn Library information and research resources are imparted to students in a multi-pronged instructional approach:
-- Library Website: Includes database and subject/course research guides, a knowledge base of frequently asked research questions called Fast Answers, and online tutorials for the most widely used as well as more complex research databases.
-- Classroom instruction: Library instruction is integrated throughout the Undergraduate and Graduate curriculum.
-- Research Consultations: Librarians provide in-depth one-on-one research consultations and also respond to inquiries via email and instant messaging.
-- InfoSessions: Workshops focused on specific research topics or types of information sources, often in partnership with other organizations, e.g. Cutler Center, Blank Center, CCD.
-- Orientations: Library tours, introducing key aspects of Horn Library content.