AccountingArtBiographyCompany InformationCulture & ReligionDictionaries & Writing ToolsEconomicsEntrepreneurshipFinanceGeographyHistory & PoliticsIndustry InformationInformation Technology ManagementLanguage StudiesLawLiteratureManagementMarketingMath & ScienceMusicPhilosophyPolitics Psychology & SociologyReligion Sociology Tax
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Virtual Reference Shelf  Tags: dictionary dictionaries directories encyclopedias handbooks reference reference_sources virtual_reference quick_reference reference_books e-resources e-books  

A collection of quick reference sources such as directories, dictionaries, encyclopedias covering all disciplines
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.babson.edu/virtualreference  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Art             Print Page
  

Reference Sources for Art

  • Oxford Art Online  
    Instruction Guide
    Includes the full text for Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
  • ARTstor  
    Instruction Guide
    Excellent starting place for online examples of an artist's work. Many genres are represented, but ARTstor isn't exhaustive - Oxford Art Online may have more available.
 

Reference e-Books

Access these encyclopedias and dictionaries online, anywhere, anytime!

  • The Bloomsbury Guide to Art  
    Includes targeted entries on individual artists, art terminology, countries and their cultural significance, theoretical concepts, and entries on important individual works of art.
  • Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists  
    Includes quick reference materials on art and artists, as well as techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists.
  • A Biographical Dictionary of Artists  
    Contains alphabetically arranged entries for painters, architects and sculptors; each entry includes dates, training, career, influences on his or her work, and when available, a bibliography of further reading.
  • Critical Terms for Art History  
    A critical discourse on the varied meanings of terms used in art history, such as "originality", "beauty", "identity", etc.
 

Special Topics in Art

Research Guides

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait